News from On and Off York Street

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
December 5, 2018

Donna Zakowska (’83): ‘Marvelous’ Painting with Fabric

The costume design in The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel uses color to convey 1950s New York to viewers.

Learn More
The Nutcracker
December 4, 2018

‘Nutcracker’ Sets by Fufan Zhang (’17) Feature Seafaring Flavor

The build and installation of the scenery, which focuses on southeastern Connecticut’s seafaring history, was managed by Kevin Belcher and Dashiell Menard (’19).

Learn More
December 3, 2018

Donald T. Sanders (’69) to Direct Off-Boadway Premiere of ‘Maestro’

Maestro brings to life the story of conductor Arturo Toscanini, who bravely opposed Fascism in Italy and America.

Learn More
November 30, 2018

Narda E. Alcorn (’95) Appointed Chair of Stage Management Department

Dean James Bundy called Alcorn “a practitioner of the very first rank: a key artistic collaborator in landmark productions for more than two decades.”

Learn More
Jeremy O. Harris '19
November 28, 2018

A Playwright Who Won’t Let Anyone Off the Hook

Jeremy O. Harris (’19)’s debut is “like commuting into Manhattan on a comet.”

Learn More
The Seagull
November 26, 2018

Alumni and Faculty explore ‘The Seagull’ in New Film

The Chekhov Project Company includes Joan MacIntosh (Faculty), Rob Campbell (Acting, ’90), Deb O (Design, ’07), Daniel Baker ( Sound Design, ’04), and Johnny Moreno (Design ’18).

Learn More
Sara Holdren
November 19, 2018

Sara Holdren (’15) Named Artistic Director of Shakespeare Academy @ Stratford

The Academy combines rigorous training and ensemble collaboration to perform two Shakespeare plays at the American Festival Shakespeare Theater.

Learn More
Tobin Showcase
November 14, 2018

Yale Teams in Finals of Director-Designer Showcase

School of Drama finalists are Haydee Zelideth and Yana Birÿkova (’17); Shadi Ghaheri (’18); John Bondi-Ernoehazy, Mika Eubanks, Samuel Kwan Chi Chan, and Yaara Bar (’19).

Learn More
Christopher Durang ('74)
November 12, 2018

Eclipse Theatre Company to Feature Works of Christopher Durang (’74)

Eclipse plans to explore the range of Durang’s canon with three full productions, readings, and public events focused on the playwright and his works.

Learn More
Honsol Jung ('14)
November 12, 2018

Hansol Jung (’14) Channels ‘Multiple Existences’ in Her Writing

“Hansol has no shortage of metaphors, and they’re incredibly integral, holistic, and beautiful,” says director Leigh Silverman.

Learn More