News from On and Off York Street

Rudi Goblen
January 7, 2020

Rudi Goblen (’22): B-Boy, Poet, Playwriting M.F.A. Candidate

Goblen is just the kind of artist that leaders of the Yale School of Drama Playwriting program see as the future.

Learn More
Emily Dickinson
October 31, 2019

Creator Alena Smith (’06) on Apple TV+ Series Dickinson

“Everyone’s free to invent their own Emily Dickinson, and this is mine,” Smith said.

Learn More
Read to Me
October 21, 2019

‘Read to Me’ by Brendan Pelsue (’16) premieres at Portland Stage Company

The play will be directed by Rory Pelsue (’18) and features costume design by Cole McCarty (’18) and sound by Kathy Ruvuna (’19).

Learn More
Jeremy O. Harris ('19)
September 19, 2019

Jeremy O. Harris (’19) to Receive National Theatre Conference Award

Harris will receive the Paul Green Award for excellence in new professional theatre talent.

Learn More
Benjamin Benne
September 12, 2019

Benjamin Benne (’21) Wins National Latinx Playwriting Award

“Our judges fell in love with the poetically distilled language of ALMA,” said Arizona Theatre Company’s Playwright-in-Residence Elaine Romero.

Learn More
Alex Lubischer
August 15, 2019

Alex Lubischer (’19) Joins Goodman Theatre’s Playwrights Unit

The residency, partnered with Chicago Dramatists, culminates in a public staged reading of each of the four writer’s new plays in Summer 2020.

Learn More
Kim Powers, Roy Steinberg, Sally Mayes
August 7, 2019

Playwright Kim Powers (’84) Brings Together Yale School of Drama Alumni for ‘Sidekicked’

The new play is directed by Roy Steinberg (’78) and features costumes by Jess Goldstein (’78, Former Faculty).

Learn More
Slave Play
July 18, 2019

‘Slave Play’ by Jeremy O. Harris (’19) to Make Broadway Debut

New York Times calls his play, opening October 6, a “provocative exploration of race relations and sexuality.”

Learn More
Noah Diaz
July 3, 2019

‘Richard & Jane & Dick & Sally’ by Noah Diaz (’20) to Debut in February

The world premiere is being co-produced by The Sol Project, Baltimore Center Stage, and Playwrights Realm.

Learn More
Jackie Sibblies Drury
June 5, 2019

Jackie Sibblies Drury (Faculty): The Mind Behind ‘Fairview’

Drury explains her intention behind making audiences uncomfortable in Fairview, her Pulitzer Prize-winning play about race and self-awareness.

Learn More